skip to content

Brexit: Analysis and FAQs


This information was last updated on 30 January 2020.

Q. For the purpose of this guidance, who is an 'EU national'?

For the purpose of this guidance, the definition of ‘EU national’ includes all of the following nationalities: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

Q. Will the UK continue to participate in the Erasmus+ programme?

Under the withdrawal agreement between the UK and EU, the UK will continue to participate in the Erasmus+ programme until 2020/21. This means existing Erasmus projects will continue and UK institutions can apply for funding to support Erasmus activity in the next academic year as planned.

Future participation after 2020 will be decided as part of the future partnership negotiations.

Further information is outlined on the UK National Agency’s website.


Q. How will the University keep me updated?

The University will communicate with you directly via your University of Cambridge Hermes email address when there are significant updates. This website ( will also be regularly updated and revised to reflect up-to-date information.

Q. Who should I contact if I have queries about my position?

The University’s International Student Office administers the Erasmus programme at the University.